Kabira – Rhythm and notes

Kabira is an extremely guitar friendly song and the rhythm and riffs really reach out and make me want to strum my guitar. For some reason, this song takes me back to the notation days where I used to write music as a student of the legendary Bennet Pinto – musician extraordinairre.

My first composition was writing musical notes for Edelweiss (The Sound of Music). The notations stumped me and I got it all wrong the first time. And then I remember sitting late and picking out the chords and strings to get the right musical balance and then churning out the complete song on note.

Kabira is beautiful, haunting and the chords are simple – D, A and B-minor with F and G sprinkled in between. Rekha Bharadwaj and Tochi Raina bring in a soothing lilt that captures the essence of Sufiism in all its spirituality and awakening. I need my guitar right now, cause every time I listen to this song it makes me pluck the strings mid air.

Leave a Reply

