Going on 24

I have begun watching the final season of 24. Reason – Anil Kapoor. There is no doubt that Slumdog Millionaire has opened quite a few global avenues for this popular Bollywood actor. And to be fair to him, he did do a good job in the film. I have just caught bits and pieces of 24 in the past and Anil Kapoor and the lack of good serials on TV are forcing me to take another look at this series.24 - Anil Kapoor - President Hassan, Kiefer Sutherland - Jack Bauer

The series is interesting and extremely fast-paced and yesterday’s premiere of the final season did interest me enough to have another dekko tonight. Speaking about final seasons, Lost has been on my mind these last few weekends. I hardly followed the show till then, but thanks to Wikipedia I am up-to-date with what’s happening in the lives of more than half a dozen characters with severe emotional problems and one hell of a smoke monster to deal with on one of the most luscious islands on earth. If I were them, I would have remained on the island for the rest of my life considering there was enough eye candy going around for everyone involved.

Coming back to 24, good going Anil. He carries himself quite well unlike some of the other mainstream Indian actors who on transitioning to English fare, tend to continue their hamming and hawing ending up like poorly defined caricatures of Apu Nahasamasapeemapetilon. Though stereotyped in a way by playing some Islamic President, Kapoor has enough of a meaty role to get star-billing besides Kiefer Sutherland and the screen time to go with it.

Lets see how the series progresses. The best to you Anil. I know you are done with the show, but what the hell, my real-time watch starts now.

Leave a Reply

